Homemade Bloody Mary Mix

Classic Bloody Mary

Without going into a lot of detail, let me just say that I was forced into making my own Bloody Mary mix, and I am all the happier for it. I used Clamato juice (again, long story not worthy of repetition), but I think I would prefer this made with V-8 juice. Let me say, however, that the Clamato juice has no “clammy” taste whatsoever, but it is a significantly thinner product than V-8. But let’s be honest, it’s the accoutrements that make it all worthwhile. I served my Bloody Mary in a simple fashion with just a celery salted rim and a celery stalk, but that was merely because I didn’t have the other good stuff to add…olives, pickle spear, or whatever else you fancy. This mix is not super spicy, but I would have made it so had I thought that people other than me and my Bloody Mary teacher friend would have liked it. So, if you’re like me, add to the heat by adding additional hot sauce (I recommend a green chili sauce if you want a really fiery taste). Horseradish is a key component; and while it adds to the heat, it also adds a lot of horseradish flavor that may be overpowering, so use that to your liking.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 64 Oz. Clamato or V-8 Juice
  • 1/2 tsp. Citrus Salt (or substitute regular salt)
  • 1 1/4 tsp. Celery Seed
  • 1/2 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper (red chili flakes)
  • 1/2- 1 tsp. Fresh Ground Pepper
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2-3 TBS. Hot Sauce (your favorite, or whatever you have in the refrigerator)
  • 1 TBS. Horseradish

FOR GARNISH (all optional):

  • 1 Lemon (for juice)
  • 1 TBS. Celery salt
  • Celery
  • Green Olives
  • Pickle Spear

INSTRUCTIONS:

Combine all ingredients in a blender or large pitcher. Pour celery salt onto a saucer or shallow rimmed bowl. To make Bloody Mary’s: Use lemon to coat the top edges of glass and then twist around in celery salt.  Add ice, 1 shot of vodka (use Pepper Vodka for added spice) and Bloody Mary mix to the salted glass. Garnish and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

