Midsummer Tomato Update

Our Crazy New Tomato Garden

So, here it is midsummer (according to a teacher’s calendar), and the tomatoes are just working hard to make us happy. Bryan watered everyone last night after neglecting them for one night, and he told me they were not happy with him. Today, they are happy – and they may be flaunting their happiness a little too much, because they attracted the attention of critter, who I have no respect for because he only ate half of the tiny unripe tomato – wasting food irritates me more than anything. I guess it’s bound to happen; I probably just need to let the hound dog out in the yard more often. The crop, however is thriving. We have a lot of fruit, some of which is actually ripening already, and the plants just look happy. As for size, well let’s just say that most of them are big enough to ride the big roller coasters at the amusement park, and one of them is almost as tall as me (5’7″). I am obsessed with tomato recipes, but what I really can’t wait for is just the good old standby Caprese salad with tomatoes and basil from the garden, and the freshest mozzerella from the market (I keep saying I’m going to make my own one of these days). Let’s keep our fingers crossed that the local critters have decided they “don’t care for tomatoes” – all the more for us.

Leave a Reply

