“Loaded” Blueberry Muffins

“Loaded” Blueberry Muffins

I’m lucky to live in a state known for blueberries, and previously, I lived in a state which bordered a blueberry state. I say lucky because I love blueberries and they are well known to be somewhat of a super food because of the amount of antioxidants they contain. Regardless of where you live, fresh blueberries are available nearly year round. My kids love to just snack on blueberries, but they love blueberry muffins even more. I call these muffins loaded for the obvious reason – they are loaded with blueberries. These are super easy to make – I say this with the utmost confidence because I self admit that I am not a baker. This recipe makes 12 regular sized muffins; I’ve never tried them in jumbo muffin tins, but I expect they would just have to cook longer.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter – softened
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla
  • 2 1/2 – 3 Cups Fresh Blueberries (I always use 3)
  • Extra Sugar (regular or sanding) for sprinkling
  • Paper Cupcake Liners (optional, but makes clean-up easier)

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Add butter, sugar and eggs to a large mixing bowl and cream together. Sift together all of the dry ingredients and add vanilla to milk. Add flour mixture and milk alternately (in about 2- 3 batches) to the creamed butter mixture. Gently fold blueberries into the batter. Spoon batter into a greased muffin tray (or add cupcake liners to muffin tray). Sprinkle with sugar and bake for 30-35 minutes (until a toothpick inserted comes clean). Allow muffins to sit for 3-5 minutes before removing from the tray.
Enjoy!!!

8 responses to ““Loaded” Blueberry Muffins

  1. Those look amazing! Will have to give them a try!

    • Thanks!!! I don’t even know what that is, but an award sounds good! I’m worried because I’m going on a diet on Monday and not sure how that’s going to impact my blog – but I still have three kids to cook for, so hopefully all of my future posts won’t just be grilled chicken and fish!

  2. Those look really, really amazing – nice one.

  3. Thank you! I’m making these for my daughter’s school. They are delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

