Leek Risotto

Leek RisottoSometimes the simplest things are the best. This is one of those recipes that was a result of creating something out of what I had in the fridge and pantry; sometimes I question why I spend so much time thinking about new recipes…I should just learn that some of the best creations take the least amount of thought. The holidays are over, and I’ve made a commitment to using up all of the great food that we have in our freezer. Because we buy so much locally raised meat and poultry, it is typically frozen. I’m not so great about planning meals in advance, so using meat out of the freezer is not easy for me, but I’m really trying to be better about it. So, Friday afternoon I decided I’d use up some of the fabulous boneless pork chops I had from Melo Farms. I did my standard Ultimate Tender Pork Chop recipe, but was lacking a side dish. I love to make risotto, so I always have Arborio rice on hand. I didn’t have much to mix in with the risotta, but I did have a couple of leeks hanging around in the vegetable drawer, so I decided to make a simple leek risotto – result: excellent. The leeks have a mild onion flavor, but they have a butteriness (not sure that’s a word) about them that works so well with the creamy risotto. What’s great about this recipe is that you only need 1 leek; so don’t go out and buy a pack of leeks for this recipe, but, rather, make this with a leftover leek – because almost all recipes only call for a few leeks and you, undoubtedly, have leftovers (they are great in quiche and mashed potatoes as well). So, simple is often better, and, some of the best inventions come from working with what you have. (Serves 4 as a side dish)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Cup Arborio Rice
  • 1 Leek – chopped (white and light green parts only)
  • 3-4 Cups Chicken Broth (hot)
  • 1 TBS. Olive Oil
  • 1/4 Cup Fresh Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Fresh Parsley – finely chopped
  • Salt and Freshly Ground Pepper (to taste)

INSTRUCTIONS:

Heat chicken broth over medium heat and keep hot. Add olive oil to a medium saucepan and heat over medium; add leeks and saute until tender but not quite browned.Slice leeks and then halve Add rice to saucepan, saute for a few minutesSaute leeks and then add about 3/4 cup hot chicken broth, stirring constantly.Add Chicken Stock Cook until most of chicken broth is absorbed and then add another 3/4 cup hot broth, stirring constantly. Continue cooking until risotto is tnderRepeat process until rice is tender but still al dente. Add parmesan cheese, chopped parsley, and season with salt and pepper.

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Leek Risotto

  1. Pingback: Quick, Easy, and Healthy Pasta with Leeks and Italian Sausage « Our Little Family Adventure

  2. Pingback: Savory Marinated Pork Loin Roast | Kath's Kitchen Sync

Leave a Reply

