Sushi, Sashimi, Miso Soup and Edamame

Sushi, Sashimi, Edamame, and Miso Soup

Sushi, Sashimi, Miso Soup, and Edamame

Everyone in my family loves sushi, mostly California rolls, but I’m getting them to branch out. I love fresh sashimi, and my waisteline can spare the extra rice. Everyone also loves miso soup, which literally takes 5 minutes to make, and I always keep all of the ingredients on hand (all but the miso paste and tofu are kept in the cupboard). So, on a week night when I don’t have time to cook, and don’t want to order out, this is a great fast meal. While I love to make homemade sushi and rolls, they are very time consuming. I have an amazing Japanese grocery store/Sushi Bar nearby, but I’m also lucky to have a local grocery store that carries an excellent selection of sushi, rolls, and sashimi. I always keep edamame in the freezer (it’s a great healthy snack alternative), so I can literally throw this dinner together in a matter of minutes. I usually start by soaking the wakame for the miso soup and cutting the tofu. I also start boiling two pots of water – one for the edamame and one for the miso soup. Whie I’m waiting for the water, I plate the sushi and/or sashimi (depending on whose plate it is). When the pots of water are boiling, I prepare the edamame (according to the directions on the package – but you really just boil it for a few minutes until it’s hot all the way through), and the miso soup. Drain the edamame and season generously with Kosher salt, and add to the plate with the sushi. Pour miso soup into bowls (I like to put the bowls on the sushi plate), and you’re done.

For the Miso Soup:

  • 4 Cups Water
  • 1.5 tsp. Instant Dashi (Handashi) – available at Japanese/Asian markets
  • 1/2 Cup Miso Paste (light)
  • 1-2 TBS. Dried Seaweed (Wakame is traditional)
  • 1/2 Cup Cubed Tofu (I prefer firm)
  • 2 TBS. Green Onions – chopped

Place dried seaweed in a bowl and cover with warm water to rehydrate. In a medium stockpot, bring water to a boil.  Add instant dashi and stir until all of the granules are dissolved. Add miso paste and stir until paste is dissolved and incorporated. Add remaining ingredients and serve.

 

 

3 responses to “Sushi, Sashimi, Miso Soup and Edamame

  1. Really love miso soup!

  2. Pingback: Week 2 Day 2 – Fasting | Tales Of A Diet

Leave a Reply

