Cinnamon Scones

scone icing 006I’ve been encouraging friends to help me out with my blog by guest blogging and sharing some of their favorite recipes. It always sounds great to everyone, but no one has ever followed through – until now! My brother and sister-in-law are visiting, and my sister-in-law is a great cook and an even more accomplished baker. She made these cinnamon scones for us on her first morning here; I told her she could move in. I am really not a huge fan of cinnamon, and I am very particular about my scones. I’ve had scones that could be used as a weapon to knock out a home intruder. These scones, however, were lovely. They’re not too crumbly and have that wonderful buttery, creaminess that is characteristic of a good authentic scone. You can make these scones with or without the icing. They are very easy to make, but I did learn that it can be difficult to find the cinnamon chips. Hersheys and King Arthur both make the chips, but you have to find a place that carries them or order them on-line. Trust me, however, it’s worth the effort. (16 small or 8 large scones).

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 2 TBS. Sugar
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/2 Cup (1 stick) Chilled Unsalted Butter – cut into chunks
  • 1 Cup Cinnamon Chips
  • 3/4 Cup Heavy Cream

For the Honey Cinnamon Icing:

  • 1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1 tsp. Honey
  • 1/8 Cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. Milk

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 425 Degrees. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and nutmeg. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Thru March 20 006Stir in the cinnamon chip and use a fork to mix in cream. Gather dough into a ball and knead slightly, just until a nice cohesive ball is formed; don’t overwork. Cut ball in half to form two equal sized balls (if making large scones, skip this step). Thru March 20 017Put dough on a work surface and pat into 3/4 inch round discs. Cut dough into 8 equal sized triangles (pie shaped). Thru March 20 020Place cut scones on greased baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes (depending on size of scones). Allow to cool completely and drizzle with icing (if using).scone icing 001

Iced Cinnamon Scones

Iced Cinnamon Scones

 

6 responses to “Cinnamon Scones

  1. Hey Katherine – I heard about these from Sandy, almost made me want to rejoin the soccer team;) She found the cinnamon chips up in Bad Axe and bought a stash. I read her the recipe over the phone and am anxiously awaiting the samples!!!

    • Great to hear from you – we miss you! I will try to remember to send you advance notice if I bring treats to a game; we’d love for you to come cheer us on!

  2. Katherine! These are amazing. Last week, when we enjoyed them during our meeting, I knew I had to make them myself. Yesterday, Maria and I did just that. Delicious! The best part is they are easy to make!
    Thanks!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed them! I am not much of a baker, which is why I love these…they are so easy. My sister-in-law deserves the credit, and I think she gave credit to someone else.

  3. thank you for this great recipe. I made a plate of cinnamon scones for my daughter”s school and they truly enjoyed them. I am about to made a second batch for my cousin”s tea party. Thank you again, Lizzy

    • I am so glad! Everyone loves those scones and they are so easy! I only make double batches now because I always have a long list of people who will “take them off my hands.” My apologies for not blogging new stuff recently, but now that it’s summer, look for more new recipes.

Leave a Reply

