Sour Cherry Pie

Sour Cherry PieSour cherries are only available for about two weeks in late June/early July, so when I saw them at the Farmer’s Market, I had to seize the opportunity. Through July 17 006Unfortunately, when I bought them they were on week two, so when I went back the following week, they weren’t available 😦 . I really wanted to make a sour cherry sauce for vanilla ice cream (I’ve been on another ice cream making kick lately), and try a sauce for a pork loin; I will have to wait until next year. Pitting the cherries is a fair amount of work – I was lucky to have the help of a friend – the process was much more bearable. The pie is based on my basic berry pie recipe, it just includes a little extra sugar to compliment the sourness of the cherries. I didn’t have quite enough cherries to make two pies, but I did make a full pie plus two mini pies (in muffin tins -sorry, no picture). I sent the pie to a friend who was hosting my son at her cottage, and my cherry pitting friend and I enjoyed the mini tarts. I chose a lattice crust because I think it works really well with berry pies because the fruit often overflows, but you could use a standard crust (maybe with cut-outs) if you prefer. As with all of my pie recipes,  I always opt for store bought Pillsbury pie crust, but my tried and true homemade pie crust can be found with my recipe for Strawberry Rhubarb Pie.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 5 Cups Pitted Sour Cherries (about 2 Quarts Unpitted)
  • 1 Cup Sugar- plus extra for crust
  • 4 TBS. Cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp.  Salt
  • 1 tsp. Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 tsp. Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 2 TBS. Unsalted Butter -cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 TBS. Milk

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 425°F. In a medium bowl, combine sugar, cornstarch, and salt and blend. Pitted Sour CherriesStir in cherries, lemon juice, and vanilla; set aside.Combine ingredients

Place one round pie crust in a 9-inch glass pie dish. Trim dough overhang to 1/2 inch and flute the edges. Using a large knife or pastry wheel with fluted edge, cut ten 3/4-inch-wide strips from second dough round. Transfer filling to dough-lined dish, mounding slightly in center. Dot with butter. Add to pie shellArrange dough strips atop filling, forming lattice; trim dough strip overhang to 1/2 inch. Fold bottom crust up over ends of strips and crimp edges to seal. Brush lattice crust (not edges) with milk. Sprinkle lattice with additional sugar (about 1 TBS).Ready for the oven

Place pie on a foil lined rimmed baking sheet and bake 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 375°F. Bake pie until filling is bubbling and crust is golden brown, covering edges with foil collar if browning too quickly, about 1 hour longer. Transfer pie to rack and cool completely.Ready for delivery

 

2 responses to “Sour Cherry Pie

  1. Looks amazing! Great post!

Leave a Reply

