Chopped Kale Salad with Tuna, Feta, and Lemon Vinaigrette

Kale salad with feta and tunaIt seems that I’ve been making a lot of ice cream, cupcakes, muffins, scones and pies this summer. Yum!!! But to keep balance, salad for dinner is my go-to. My kale salad eating friend was telling me about her favorite chopped kale salad. I’m not really sure what was on it, but it involved a lemon vinaigrette; that was enough for me. I returned from vacation to some beautiful ripe tomatoes in my garden (the yellow variety are featured here), so I had to include those. To make the salad an entree, I had to add some protein – I had feta and tuna available, so that decision was easy. I would add red or green onions, but I didn’t have any available. Kale is like the super super food, but it is coarse and a little bitter, this is why it’s best to chop it into small strips. I’ve read on-line about “massaging” the kale, but I didn’t do that – I figure if I didn’t get a massage, my food isn’t getting a massage. For the vinaigrette, I used pumpkin seed oil – because I had it and thought it would be a nice touch, which it was- but I’ve listed olive oil in the recipe.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Bunch of Kale
  • 1-2 Tomatoes (Heirloom, Romas, or Cherry/Grape)
  • Feta Cheese – crumbled
  • White Albacore Tuna
  • Red or Green Onion – chopped

For the Lemon Vinaigrette:

  • 1/4 Cup Olive Oil (or specialty oil- such as pumpkin seed or avocado)
  • Juice of 2-3 Lemons
  • 1/2 tsp. Garlic- chopped
  • 1 tsp. Dijon Mustard
  • Salt and Freshly Ground Pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:

Combine all ingredients for the vinaigrette, seasoning to taste with salt and pepper, and shake well. Chop kale into fine ribbons and arrange on a plate. Add remaining ingredients and top with vinaigrette.

 

4 responses to “Chopped Kale Salad with Tuna, Feta, and Lemon Vinaigrette

  1. Your friend sounds smart

  2. yummm, keep her healthy, we’ll need her this fall )

  3. Pingback: Italian Chopped Salad with Oregano Vinaigrette | Eating My Feelings

Leave a Reply

