Coffee and Donuts Ice Cream

coffee and donuts ice cream 1My ice cream making kick continues. I love coffee ice cream, and I love old fashioned donuts; this ice cream combines both. Some recipes call for chunks of donuts – I may try this, but for this version I ground up the donuts in the food processor. The ice cream was very well received, but I wasn’t thrilled with the texture because the ground donuts added a bit of graininess to the otherwise creamy ice cream. I think I was the only one who “took issue” with the grainy texture, but I am my worst critic. The coffee base is my standard (I promise to post my Jamoca Almond Fudge ice cream recipe soon) for ice cream and it is delicious – and that is coming from my worst critic and a well trained coffee ice cream snob. So, if you decide you’re not fond of the coffee donut combo – just leave out the donuts, or serve them on the side.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1.5 Cup Whole Milk (or use 1/2 and 1/2 Cream)
  • 1.5 Cup Heavy Cream
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 2 TBS. Instant Coffee
  • 1.5 TBS. Vanilla Extract
  • 1.5 TBS. Corn Starch
  • 1/2 Cup Donut Crumbles

INSTRUCTIONS:

Combine cornstarch and sugar  in a medium mixing bowl. Add enough milk to dissolve all of the dry ingredients and make a slurry. Add the remaining milk and cream to a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Add instant coffee and return to boil; boil for 4 minutes (no more, no less). Remove from heat and add the cornstarch mixture. Return to heat and bring back to a boil, stirring constantly, until sugar is dissolved and mixture has thickened slightly. Pour mixture into a gallon sized ziplock bag, seal, and place in an ice bath – chill until completely chilled (at least 30 minutes). Pour the chilled mixture into the canister of an ice cream maker and process until thick and creamy. When ice cream has reached desired consistency (about 15-25 minutes for most ice cream makers) add chopped donuts and allow to mix until incorporated. Transfer ice cream to an airtight storage container, cover with a layer of parchment paper, cover, and freeze until firm – about 4 hours. Garnish with additional donut bits if desired.

 

One response to “Coffee and Donuts Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Coconut Avocado Ice Cream | Inspirations Recipes

Leave a Reply

