Very Berry Scones

Very Berry Scone cropped

Very Berry Drop Scones

In embracing scones this past year, I’ve experimented quite a bit. Summertime in Michigan means lots of berries at the farmer’s market. My kids love my blueberry scones, so I decided to step up the amount and variety of berries. I used blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. You could use any combination of berries, but, in my humble opinion, the more the better. Unfortunately, I didn’t take many pictures of this batch of scones as I made and delivered them to my daughter’s lacrosse game. In an effort to not crush all of the berries, I made “drop style” scones. Typically I would form the dough into a disc and cut the scones into triangles, but with these scones I just scooped out batter and dropped it on the baking sheet. As you can see from the photos, the scones are very rustic looking, but they’re bursting with berries…yum! You can adjust the sugar a bit if you like sweeter scones, but I prefer a scone that is not overly sweetened- it allows the featured ingredient (berries in this case) to really come through.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Cups Fresh Berries (Blueberries, Raspberries, Blackberries)
  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 4TBS. Sugar (plus extra for sprinkling on top)
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter – cut into chunks
  • 1/2 – 3/4 Cup Heavy Cream

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 425 Degrees. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Use a fork to mix in the cream, adding a bit at a time until it reaching a biscuit dough consistency. Gently fold in the berries, mixing in to incorporate, but not over-mixing (the berries will break apart too much). Use a large spoon and drop scones onto a parchment paper lined (or greased) baking sheet. Sprinkle scones with additional sugar. Bake for 10-15 minutes (depending on size of scones). iPhone photos 105

Leave a Reply

