Blackberry Balsamic Glazed Goat Cheese and Proscuitto Toasts

Blackberry Glazed Goat Cheese and Proscuitto Toasts

Blackberry Glazed Goat Cheese and Proscuitto Toasts

This is one of my new favorite party appetizers! I went to a gathering the other night and wanted to bring an appetizer to share. I had a bunch of leftover stuff from my Christmas buffet that I wanted to incorporate and I came across a version of this on the Driscoll’s berry website (I will dedicate some time to checking out more recipes there). I happened to have all of the ingredients except for the bread. I did alter/simplify the recipe a bit, so here’s my version. The combination of flavors is outstanding – I love anything that successfully marries sweet and savory. I only wish I had made more because they were gone in a matter of minutes- the reviews were all very positive. These toasts assemble very quickly. The total hands-on time is probably less than 15 minutes, but you do have to allow time for the glaze to cool (enough time to get dressed and ready). You could, of course, prepare the glaze in advance. I had a little bit leftover and am going to try to use it on some poultry – I’m thinking duck…after all, New Year’s Eve is only a day away. This recipe makes 20 pieces.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Loaf of French Bread – cut into 1/4″ diagonal slices
  • 20 Large Blackberries
  • 6 Oz. Garlic and Herb Goat Cheese – at room temperature
  • 4 Oz. Proscuitto – thinly sliced, cut into about 2″ pieces
  • 3/4 Cup Balsamic Vinegar
  • 2 TBS. Sugar

INSTRUCTIONS:

In a medium saucepan, combine balsamic vinegar and sugar and bring to a boil. Boil gently for about 10 minutes until reduced by about 1/2. Add blackberries to hot vinegar mixture and mix gently until all berries are well coated.add blackberries to glaze Allow entire mixture to cool. Place sliced bread on a baking sheet and toast under the broiler for about two minutes until golden brown on top; flip and broil for another 2 minutes until the other sides are browned. Brush each toast with the balsamic glaze. brush with glazeSpread goat cheese on each toast and top with proscuitto. add proscuittoAdd a glazed blackberry to the top of each toast.blackberry glazed goat cheese and proscuitto toast close-up

 

Leave a Reply

