Cube Steak with Mushrooms and Gravy

Cube Steak with Mushrooms, gravy, and Mashed PotatoesThere is nothing gourmet about this recipe, but it is Midwestern comfort food all day long. This was a staple in my house as a kid; honestly, I’ve made it only a very few time but always enjoy it; usually I make it when I am in desperate need of comfort food. Cube steaks are not inexpensive, which is surprising, because I think they’re kind of glorified ground beef, but they are flavorful. (Our family dog was served a raw cube steak ever night for dinner). I would love to tell you that I served the cubed steak with some awesome homemade gravy, but, that’s not the case – I doused them in Heinz beef gravy out of the jar (my Mom always used Franco American which comes in a can – I just feel better about gravy out of a jar). My Mom also used canned mushrooms – really? So, here’s my spruced up cube steak with mushrooms and gravy recipe. Serves 4.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 Cube Steaks
  • 1/4 Cup Minced Onion (about 1/2 Small onion)
  • 1 Clove Garlic – Minced
  • 1 Package of Sliced White Mushrooms
  • 2 Jars of Beef Gravy
  • 2 TBS. Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:

Season cube steaks generously with salt and pepper and allow to rest for 30-45 minutes.Cube Steak In a large saucepan, heat olive oil; add garlic and onion and saute until fragrant. Add mushrooms and saute until softened. Remove mushrooms from saucepan and set aside. Saute Mushrooms and onionsAdd cube steaks to pan and brown on both sides. Return mushroom mixture to pan and add gravy. Reduce heat, cover,  and simmer until cube steaks are fully cooked and tender – at least 20 minutes. Combine Gravy, mushrooms, and cube steakServe over mashed potatoes.

Leave a comment